Ever Rest

Image

I wish your statements didn’t look like masks

The past is the hardest mountain to get over

When lies were painted as beautiful truths

I just can’t seem to accept these present joys

I fear as I unwrap reality, the box will be falsely representing the gift inside

Like a bag of chips, am I receiving the proper amount, or is it just air

I know life isn’t fair, but I’ve paid my fare, and I just want a smooth ride

Constantly pushing the pain aside, I have to choose trust

It looks as though you’re using a new brush

Though I’m tired, freedom is worth the climb

I didn’t think that I would ever rest

About FreeChels

Sharing life's journey through words. View all posts by FreeChels

Leave a Reply

