The Shore

Image

 

Is life a desert?

Surrounded by mirages, even reality seems false.

If I had known giving myself up to love came at a cost,I would’ve opted to buy the off brand versions: alcohol, sex, and smoking.

There’s no escape from hurting, these white picket fences really got us entrapped in hell.

The American Dream, a ponzi scheme.

A well with no water, yet we continue to lower the bucket as if it’ll be full when we pull it back up.

So much faith we have in lies, but in time we’ll have to face that we’ve been tied to the same chains that brought us here.

Hung us here.

But, rather than our bodies, our minds are the new victims of genocide.

If I had known giving myself to love came at a cost, honestly I’d give more.

I endured the stormy seas, so I’d appreciate the shore. 

About FreeChels

Sharing life's journey through words. View all posts by FreeChels

Leave a Reply

